The Grains Debate

Home The Candida Forum Candida Questions The Grains Debate

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Katy Gillett 8 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Katy Gillett
    Topics: 47
    Replies: 137

Hi all,

After reading various comments in the forum I’m raaather confused. So let me get this straight – grains including quinoa, brown rice, millet and amaranth will slow your progress down? Does this mean we should only cut these out if we want to speed the process up or is it vital to cut these out for a while at first? To be honest I don’t mind a slower process if it means including grains as I can’t live off animal protein (I *just* became non veggy for this diet) and just veg for that long.. but is this ok?

I’ve also been looking at GI rates in foods and for instance wholemeal spaghetti has a much lower GI than millet. So what is this about. Sorry if I’m being a bit dense but I’m quite new to this stuff and it’s taking a while to soak in.

One more thing – can we eat tofu?

Hope
    Topics: 22
    Replies: 187

Hi, Katy 🙂 It theoretically *will* speed up your candida die-off and progress if you stay away from grains. HOWEVER, speeding up die-off is not a good idea for everyone. If you’re already dealing with die-off, cutting grains now will just make it worse. I like to aim for a slow and steady die-off, to avoid huge amounts of toxins being released at once. It’s wise to limit the number of grain servings you have each day, but *many* anti-candida diets (including this one here on thecandidadiet.com) allow grains. A good rule of thumb is 2-3 small servings per day and not all at once. Veggies should still be the predominant food in pretty much every meal.