New! Help!

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  NeekyNoo 8 years ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

sfromana
    Topics: 1
    Replies: 0

Hi! I am new to the diet. Just started last week. I did not do the cleanse bc I don’t think I can handle being without food. I just saw a GP who is testing me for candida symptoms, but my allergist also sees signs of candida, so I’m pretty much sold on it being the cause of: bacteria vaginosis, perioral dermatitis, aches and pains in legs, fatigue and insomnia. I got fired two months ago, so the insomnia might be in relation to that.
    Anyway, I am confused. For the past week I have been eating:
    Brown rice (as cereal)
    Quinoa
    Plain yogurt
    nuts: almonds, some caschews, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds
    Using Agave, not Stevia
    Herbal Tea
    Brown Rice Milk
    Veggies on list
    etc.

However, I am seeing in the forum that agave is not good. Is that right? Also, many posts about not having grains in the first week. (brown rice, quinoa)

so I need verification if I can eat these things or not!! I have started to feel some die-off (hot flashes! sweats..) but for the rest, my fatigue has lessened.

Can someone please verify that I am not eating any no-no foods?

thank you!!!

NeekyNoo
    Topics: 6
    Replies: 46

Hello,
    The only definite no no is agave, it is still a sugar, so must be avoided. The only two sweeteners that are allowed are stevia and xylitol, this is because neither of them affect your blood sugar and score zero on a gi (glycemic index) rating.
    For the very beginning of the diet I would cut out yoghurt and brown rice as well, and then re introduce one at a time to see how they affect you.

If you want a milk, try making almond milk, it really is very easy. You will need to buy a nut milk bag, or some muslin fabric, but that’s all.
    Soak 1/2 cup raw almonds overnight
    Drain and blend with 2 cups water