Need to take antibiotics…help

Home The Candida Forum Candida Questions Need to take antibiotics…help

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  nicklegend 4 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

sallyf024
    Topics: 9
    Replies: 22

Yesterday I found out that I will probably need to take antibiotics. I have an abscessed tooth and from previous experience, they will want me to take antibiotics. I was down with Candida for 8 months and have made great strides to where I was just about symptom free. I remain on the diet, probiotics and nystatin. Help! The thought of going back to square one is stressing me out.

Able900
    Spectator
    Topics: 92
    Replies: 4811

Hi, Sally.

The reason the antibiotics cause yeast or Candida problems is because it kills the beneficial bacteria along with the bad bacteria. An abundance of beneficial bacteria normally signifies a well-working immune system, and these two positives will prevent yeast from turning into a fungal form. If you have to take an antibiotic, ask the doctor if Ampicillin will work for your infection as the Candida is less likely to be as bad with this antibiotic. But even with Ampicillin you will need to go back on the Candida diet if youโ€™re not already. Also, you should purchase a high count and strain of a good probiotic and begin taking it before starting the antibiotic. A good one is Ultimate Flora Critical Colon BifidoMAX 80 Billion 14-Strain Probiotic.

Able

sallyf024
    Topics: 9
    Replies: 22

Thank you AGAIN Able! As per your recommendation to my General Discussion – Probiotics Maintenance, I had already ordered the Ultimate Flora when I found out about my abscessed tooth. It is the 50 billion one. Should I double up on this or order the 80 billion one?

raster
    Participant
    Topics: 104
    Replies: 6838