Caution With This Diet-Please Read

Home The Candida Forum Candida Questions Caution With This Diet-Please Read

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Katemate3 5 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

jereseib79
    Topics: 5
    Replies: 62

I just wanted to give everyone a warning about this diet. Please do not under any circumstances start restricting your food intake in an effort the recover from candida. Heres my story:

I have been battling candida for about 10 years now. About two years ago I decided enough was enough and that I would do whatever I took to get better. So in an effort to kill off the yeast I began eating a diet of soups, salads, chicken breast, and vegetables. I thought the less I ate and less carbs i ate the more the candida would die off and I would feel better. I gave no thought to how many calories or how much fat or carbs I was getting per day. I have managed to kill off about 95% of the candida and I dont have the digestive problems anymore. Now for the bad news.

I have now developed a serious case of anorexia and severe adrenal fatigue in the process. My adrenals have been working overtime to produce cortisol in an effort to keep my blood sugar stable since I was starving to death. My doctor sent me to the hospital about a week ago as my weight was down to 128 pounds and Im a 6’0, 34 year old male. I am now on an outpatient basis and have gained about 7 pounds in the last week since they started me on a 3000 calorie diet. I estimated I was only eating 800-1000 calories while following a strict candida diet. They want me to work up to about 4500 calories over the next couple weeks in an effort to get some energy back. I just hope I havent done permanent damage to my body as Im having alot of chest pains, and heart palpitations now.