Reply To: why isn't goats cheese on the diet?

Home The Candida Forum Candida Questions why isn't goats cheese on the diet? Reply To: why isn't goats cheese on the diet?

#73935

Lauren
Member
Topics: 44
Replies: 267

Hairdesser,
Goat cheese is made from goat milk instead of cows milk. This is great for many people with allergies or sensitives to cow milk, like me. Based on information I have gotten from different doctors some people might have a sensitivity to cow milk because the casein found in it. Usually people with casein problems also have gluten problems. This is because the body breaks down gluten and casein in a similar way. There molecular model is similar. So if you are having a hard time breaking down gluten you are likely to have a problem with dairy. This is why people who have gluten sensitivities tend to have dairy sensitivities too.

Other people can’t have any cow milk products, even with the casein taken out of it. For these people even a product like ghee is not helpful. The hardest part is finding out which type of sensitivity you have. The best thing to do is to test it. If you have a gluten intolerance it is more likely a casein issue, but not always. For me personally I am in the process of figuring out my own dairy sensitivity issue by trying ghee. I have a gluten problem so I was thinking it was just a casein thing. However, I believe (but am not certain yet) that any type of cow milk product is bad for me. I need to test it again to make sure this is true though.

This is information that I gathered from doctors over the years and I wanted to share for anyone else out there that might have gluten and dairy problems. This is just information I remember understanding when the doctors explained it to me or I read it somewhere. So if there is any wrong info I am sorry.

Here is a link about goat cheese http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goat_cheese
Here is a link about ghee http://www.pureindianfoods.com/