Vinegar?? Other ideas for salad?

Home The Candida Forum Candida Questions Vinegar?? Other ideas for salad?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Morab 7 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Tanager
    Topics: 1
    Replies: 0

Hi,
    I’m new to the Candida diet. I’m wondering why no vinegar. How bad is it? I tried having my salad with lemon juice and it was horrible. Way too bitter. I usually use a little Balsamic Vinegar on my salad. How bad is vinegar?
    Any other ideas for a salad dressing would be great.

Thanks!!!

Meghan
    Topics: 0
    Replies: 1

I use this recipe:

¼ c. freshly squeezed lemon juice
    ¾ c. olive oil (or extra-virgin olive oil)
    4 garlic cloves, pressed
    1 T. dried oregano
    ¼ tsp. coarse ground black pepper
    ¼ tsp. sea salt (optional)

Place all ingredients in a jar or salad dressing bottle with mixer. Shake or whisk thoroughly until all ingredients are combined.

Hope
    Topics: 22
    Replies: 187

Hi 🙂 I’m new to the forums, but I’ve been on the diet for 5 weeks now.

I like to put something really flavorful *in* my salads to make up for the dressing I can’t have *on* my salads. My salad for lunch today was baby spinach with sliced avocado, raw pumkin seeds, raw sesame seeds, drizzled with lime juice and olive oil and then sprinkled w/ a little garlic powder and salt. The avocado – if you like it – gives the salad kind of a creamy coating if you stir it around a little before eating it. Plain lemon juice on plain lettuce would be pretty discouraging.

Hope this helps 🙂

tamamoore
    Replies: 4

Well for salads I like the mix of freshly squeezed lemon juice with a touch of olive oil and a little bit of pepper. Lemon juice and pepper are a really awesome and delicious combination.

nin
    Replies: 1

Hi,