- July 23, 2013 at 11:54 pm #108118
Liss01MemberTopics: 1Replies: 0
I was hoping for some clarification on a few things…
1) Why are we allowed oat bran but not oats? Isn’t oat bran just chopped up oats? Also, I saw some people on here were buying gluten free oat bran, I didn’t do this because it wasn’t on the printable shopping list – I assumed normal oat bran was ok since gluten free wasn’t specified?
2) Are we really allowed butter, it seems odd?
3) The hardest thing for me on this diet is time! Time for prepping, and cooking, and shopping etc. Of course I don’t like the food either but I can deal with that. Is there anything I can buy from the shops that is ready-made other than nuts and yoghurt (which I can’t stand the taste of)?
Thanks so much in advance, any help is greatly appreciated.July 24, 2013 at 12:03 am #108121
rasterParticipantTopics: 104Replies: 6821
To answer your questions:
1) Bran is a much different thing than the regular product…here is some information on bran.
Regular oat bran does contain gluten but not as much when compared to other grains. If you are worried about the small amount of gluten, then get the gluten free oat bran.
2) We are not allowed butter because it contains dairy. If you are looking at the old allowed foods list its not accurate.
3) My wife prepares all of her dinners one day of the month and freezes them and thaws them everyday…this is a way you can save time. For instance, make a soup and freeze it between a dozen or so containers and you won’t have to make soup everyday.
I personally don’t buy much prepackaged/pre-prepared food at the store so you are going to have to tough it out. What you will notice though is that no sugar is added to your homemade food, no preservatives, no GMO food items, no dairy, no grains, etc. You get a much superior product making it at home. Eating the pre-prepared processed foods is what got us here in the first place (partially) so you have gotta move on from this in order to get better.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.