Sauerkraut

This topic contains 9 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Able900 7 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Katy Gillett
    Topics: 47
    Replies: 137

I’ve never used it before but I found and bought some today from my local supermarket. Now.. What on earth am I supposed to do with it?! Sauerkraut ideas would be much appreciated right now 🙂

Hope
    Topics: 22
    Replies: 187

Hmmm, Katy. I’m assuming you’re talking about sauerkraut that has gone through lactic acid fermentation. If so, that’s *real* sauerkraut 😉 If it’s not real sauerkraut, though, it’s bound to have vinegars in it. Regardless, you should be aware that both kinds of sauerkraut may pose problems on an ACD. This is one of those areas where diets differ, but many candida sufferers have issues with *any* kind of fermentation, even lactic acid/natural fermentation. I think I’d research a little more about it before adding it to my diet.

If you do choose to eat it, it would be tasty with mashed rutabagas or mashed turnips. If you can find organic, all natural, antiobiotic free pork (I can hear you laughing and saying “yeah, right!”) it’s very good just placed on top of a pork roast or pork ribs with a little plain tomato sauce, sea salt, and cracked pepper and then roasted in the oven. I grew up eating pork and sauerkraut like this with buttery mashed potatos every New Year’s Day. Some nonsense about it bringing good luck 😉 But it always tasted SO good!

Hope this helps 🙂

Able900
    Spectator
    Topics: 92
    Replies: 4811

Hope wrote: If you do choose to eat it, it would be tasty with mashed rutabagas or mashed turnips.

Hi, Hope and Katy.

Hope, when I read the word ‘rutabagas’ … man, what a memory that word registered in my mind. Is this a food item that you’ve always eaten?