candida diet, MAINTAINING weight, frugal budget

Home The Candida Forum Candida Questions candida diet, MAINTAINING weight, frugal budget

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Lucylu 7 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

turquoises
    Topics: 1
    Replies: 0

hi folks,

I’ve been fighting a vaginal yeast infection for a few months now. I have been through a lot of stresses and major life changes recently but I did overhaul my diet this fall. I am cooking all my food from scratch a la Nourishing Traditions and it feels great. My caloric staples are currently soaked/sprouted grains (mostly lentils, rice, and cornbread), homemade yogurt, and pastured eggs.

But since I am having a hard time kicking the yeast, I want to try cutting out grains and legumes. I have a few problems with this. For one thing, I FINALLY have a diet that is healthy, feels great, fits my budget… and I’ve figured out a cooking routine that lets me do it all from scratch. I finally have a measure of stability in my life, a nice dietary routine, and I am SOOO reluctant to give that all up and start my diet over again (even if temporarily.)

My two biggest concerns:

1. I lost at least 35lbs last July due to stress. I’m down to 110, which is borderline skin and bones for me. I am maintaining my weight easily on my current diet, but with no grains this will be difficult. I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT afford to lose any more weight.

2. I am on a limited budget. I know poultry would be a good source of calories, but I only eat pastured meat due to ethical and nutritional concerns. I cannot afford this kind of meat as a staple. Even buying vegetables in the vast quantities I will need could get expensive. My grocery budget is $50 a week, I might be able to stretch it a little but not much.