Candiad & auto-immune disorders

Home The Candida Forum Candida Questions Candiad & auto-immune disorders

This topic contains 11 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  dvjorge 6 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

nai16
    Topics: 6
    Replies: 7

Hello everyone,

I would first like to briefly introduce myself. I am a 33 year old girl living in Australia (though I am originally from Argentina & Germany). I have had blocked sinuses since the age of 17 (which affected me strongly since I was going to become a classical singer and this forced me to change my career drastically – I am a geologist now!). Then, at the age of 26, I was diagnosed with Myasthenia Gravis. This is an auto-immune disease which is still poorly understood, but there is some evidence that causes could include exposure to prolonged stress (I had that for over 12 months while finishing my thesis at uni) and, as a consequence, poor adrenal functions, and manganese deficits. I had my thymus gland removed in 2005. My symptoms (arm and leg weakness and fatigue, slight sleep disorders) have remained relatively mild and unchanged for the last 8 years or so, and I am on the lightest possible medication (pyridostigmine bromide, no prednisone thankfully!). I had my first case of thrush also about 8 years ago, initially only after antibiotics. Lately I have had thrush recurrences without taking any antibiotics, which is what alarmed me and prompted me to research Candida, and eventually find this site. I am now slightly overweight (156cm tall, 65kg), but only four years ago I weighed up to 79 kg, and have lingered around 70 for many a while. I did the spit test and it looks like I might have quite a bit of Candida, so I decided, together with my partner, to give this diet a shot. Today is day one on stage one!