A few useful tips

Home The Candida Forum Candida Advice A few useful tips

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Wiley200 9 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

SunnyTimes
    Participant
    Topics: 1
    Replies: 4

A few useful tips / observations from my own personal experience – this might help someone. I’m not a doctor.

1) Liquids go straight down to the gut (you can test this by drinking a cup of ice-cold water and seeing how far you can track it down). When drinking liquids with sugar in them the effect on the Candida is relatively quick. Same with sweets, perhaps because the sugar mixes with the saliva and forms a liquid.

2) Chewed solids take longer to travel down the gut. The effect on the Candida of chewed solid carbohydrates is relatively slow.

3) Solid carbohydrates with a large surface area e.g. flour in pastry, take a while to travel down to the gut but once there the Candida explodes.

4) Solid carbohydrates with a relatively small surface area e.g. chewed wholegrain rice take a while to travel down to the gut and the effect on the Candida is slow or non-existent (I can eat wholegrain rice with no resulting Candida BUT see below, number 5). It might be that temporarily NOT chewing solids as thoroughly as usual could help reduce Candida.

5) The mix of ingredients in foods is critical. For me, wholegrain rice with chickpeas and vegetables gradually leads to Candida. Wholegrain rice with chickpeas, lentils and vegetables doesn’t. I have no idea why. My guess is that it’s something in the lentils that reduces the activity of the Candida. Or maybe it requires a certain surface area or percentage of carbohydrates for the Candida to take off, and the lentils have a bulking effect and keep that percentage below a critical level.