helpme wrote: just a question, seeing as it contains no sugars
As long as the cheese is fermented long enough, one probably wouldn’t need to worry about the small amounts of lactose that are in the cheese. The flora should ferment the lactose, changing it to a lactic acid form, that is, providing it’s fermented long enough.
Even so, if I wanted to eat it on the diet, I would do so only after the first 3 or 4 weeks and start with a very small amount watching for a reaction of any type.
It isn’t on the diet because it presents a potential problem for many sufferers. However, in the end, the decision should be yours and not ours. It’s not like we’re forbidding you to eat anything that’s not on the diet.