The kefir “grains” (cultures) eat the sugar. They need it! They leave very little in the drink, so you don’t end up ingesting sugar. I’m not sure which grains you should get — dairy makes me feel gross, but I’m using kefir grains that used to be in dairy (from a friend), and I haven’t had any problems with it in my coconut milk. It could be different if you have an allergy vs just have a hard time digesting it. But the grains themselves aren’t made of dairy. Hope that helps?