raster wrote: Oat bran production removes most of the gluten:
“Bran is the hard outer layer of grain and consists of combined aleurone and pericarp. Along with germ, it is an integral part of whole grains, and is often produced as a by-product of milling in the production of refined grains. When bran is removed from grains, the grains lose a portion of their nutritional value. Bran is present in and may be milled from any cereal grain, including rice, corn (maize), wheat, oats, barley and millet. Bran should not be confused with chaff, which is coarser scaly material surrounding the grain, but not forming part of the grain itself.”
Each company that makes bran has different processes and thats why we recommend bobs red mill products.
Thanks for that. If i find an organic gluten free oatbran, would that be ok?