Oat bran and oats are not the same thing. Oat bran only has the bran portion of the oat which is a prebiotic. This is the only reason it is allowed on the diet. It actually might be a good idea to try a week without oat bran and a week with oat bran to see which is better. Oat bran contains gluten which can benefit the yeast.